.pdf to .doc converter that keeps formatting?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been going crazy b/c one of my main responsibilities in my job I transferred to in January is to revise some 5 year planning documents. Sadly, in the 2 years that it took to fill my position, my predecessor's computer crashed and the documents in question now only exist in .pdf form. When I have exported them out of Acrobat to the various formats, I lose the formatting or every paragraph appears as a text box. Does anyone know of a way to keep the formatting either using Acrobat or some other piece of software? A google search shows some software products that claim to keep formatting but I have no experience with any of them and don't want to buy them if they don't work. But if I can't find some way to do this, I'm going to have to re-write about 2,000 pages of text, tables, and illustrations from scratch. That's fine if I have to...but I'd rather not.

I have not found a free software to do this. If the PDF contains text instead of image, I have copy/pasted and then formatted manually. I think it is possible to do with Acrobat but it's pricey.

Originally Posted By: uc50ic4more
It's been a long while since I've buggered with either the pdf or doc formats, but this little fella looks promising: http://www.primopdf.com/index.aspx

Must they be converted to doc format?

PrimoPDF prints to a PDF file instead of the printer. it doesn't do the reverse.

Originally Posted By: CivicFan
I have not found a free software to do this. If the PDF contains text instead of image, I have copy/pasted and then formatted manually. I think it is possible to do with Acrobat but it's pricey.