Overfilled crankcase = bent conrod?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Could over-filling an engine with oil cause a conrod to bend? Assuming that no oil got into the cylinder, and therefore no risk of hydro-lock, could an over-filled crankcase result in a bent conrod?

This is a question from another forum, where an engine allegedly had 7.5 litres of oil in it, instead of 4.5, and this was, according to the dealer, the cause of a bent conrod.

I have no actual experience in this kind of failure, but that would be exactly the damage I would expect: rotating crankshaft hitting oil level would cause damage to the weakest link, the connecting rod.
The animation on this page seems to incorrectly show the crankshaft rod bearings rotating through the oil level in a manner which might cause the damage you are referring to.

Others: Does the crankshaft really run into the oil level like that?

That is vastly overfilled so the crank could be "swimming" in the oil and it wouldn't surprise me that if the rpms or torque were high enough that a conrod could bend. Not saying it did, just saying it seems easily within the realm of possibility. Ever crash while jet skiing? Liquid is pretty hard when hit at fast speeds.

Never seen it happen ever and I have seen some insane overfills. Usualy if it is that overly fuel a seal will let go. It is normal practice in Auto-Cross circles to over fill by 1 quart.

I almost forgott to add that my wife once added 3-4 quarts to a car that already had plenty of oil in it. She miss read the dipstick. So her buick had 4.5 quarts in the sump and 3-4 more just for good measure. She drove it 18 miles to work and home like that before I discovered it. No damage but had me nervious as heck though!