Oil Filter and Air Filter overrated?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,
I gained knowledge from this site, and now I made an account to give back a bit. I’m not a car expert, but I do have a chemistry background.

I was reading the free warranty Pennzoil offers, 500k miles for using only Pennzoil Ultra and 300k for using any other Pennzoil oil from less than 75k miles or 72 months onwards:

https://www.pennzoil.com/en_us/warranty/...2NhbGU9ZW5fdXM=

Also, Napa’s website has a much more detailed explanation of the warranty, but I think it’s a bit outdated because it starts at 60k & 6 months.

Anyways, if you “read between the lines” and deduce from what their lawyers and engineers created together (the warranty), the brand and quality of the oil filter are irrelevant. Same goes for air filter.

That warranty PDF from Napa’s website goes into detail about everything the consumer is supposed to do, mainly follow the manufacturer maintenance schedule. It gives a glimpse into their undisclosed expensive research.

Pennzoil says to change out the oil and filter (and do other maintenance like changing the air filter on time); there is no mention of oil filter and air filter brand. So, it appears going with the least expensive filter out there would be fine. They could have easily included language to specify what filter, but it appears their R & D has concluded any filter would be fine. That PDF is pretty thorough in all sorts of areas; not including such language is quite an admission.

Also, their research appears to also conclude that the wear and gunk build-up up until 75k (previously 60k) is reversible or at least such damage can be put on hold until 500k. And even then, they would want to have a mileage buffer, so starting after 75k would be just fine.

Any thoughts?

It would be nice to know at what percentage of claims filed actually get paid.
I think that would answer most of the questions on why they may not care what filters you use.