Laptop doesn't retain updates...

Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
3,836
Location
los angeles
Whenever i check for Windows updates,the page where it says"most recent check for updates"it says never,and where it says "updates were installed,it also says never. I do run the updates and it downloads,but the next time that i start it's the same. Win Vista. Why do they keep erasing? Thanks
 

daves66nova

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
3,836
Location
los angeles
Originally Posted By: OneEyeJack
I did update again and I got error code 80070645. I looked it up and it has to do with Net Framework 3.5. I ran the Microsoft .Net Framework Repair Tool. Hopefully it fixes this [email protected]#$% problem. Btw, is Vista a crummy o.s? I thought only Win 8.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
41,375
Location
Great Lakes
Originally Posted By: daves66nova
Btw, is Vista a crummy o.s?
That seems to be the general consensus out there. Although, I've used it for some time before upgrading to W7, and haven't really experienced any issues.
 

daves66nova

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
3,836
Location
los angeles
It's been good so far,after I ran that Microsoft tool,and i also turned off automatic updates. It's only for a laptop that i gave my 8 y.o. son,so if it catches anything,reformat time again. Thanks to all for responding.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
16,775
Location
NE,Ohio
why not just make a backup of it working now.. save to an external hdd. then it takes 5min to fix it after someone cruds it up again. There are free programs such as macrim reflect
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
36,346
Location
NY
Originally Posted By: Rand
why not just make a backup of it working now.. save to an external hdd. then it takes 5min to fix it after someone cruds it up again. There are free programs such as macrim reflect
+1 Once I get a computer setup the way I like it I use Redo Backup and Restore and clone the drive. I do this before adding any data, and call it a Virgin BU with the date. If anything goes bad I do a restore from that and add my data from a data backup which I keep separately. It has saved me more than once, and is very easy to do.
 
Top