k &n vs. oem...(continued!)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did a comparo test: 5050 miles on a k&n air filter(26,7xx miles on it), silicon: 11.
Then, 4854 miles on a oem(new,Toyota), silicon 10.
Seems pretty close....

If you would have went the extra 196 miles to make it a fair test, they may have been equal:) I thought this was going to be another "K&N-haters" thread. I'm glad I read it anyway. I've been using them (and S&B)for 11 years, and I don't plan to return to paper.

Thanks for the comparison.
I have a K&N clone filter, same color element and I use the K&N oil on it. My UOA I did with 4,546 miles had 5 Si. I've never tested the oil with an OEM filter, but with those numbers I don't see the need.

For all the bashers out there, they need to post up multiple UOAs - with a K&N and without. If they show elevated Si, then fine go back to paper. It varies by vehicle and use. Without acutal data on your own vehicle, I don't see how someone could say what is better for their car.

Interesting comparison. I've used a K&N on my Bronco for years, and do a 'tissue wipe' test on the carb venturies occasionally; they're always cleaner than they were when using a paper filter.

Bring it on, K&N haters, bring it on......
128.gif
128.gif
128.gif

grin.gif
grin.gif
grin.gif

im planning on cleaning it when my car gets to 50,000 miles. that is about 49,000 miles on the filter.

My point is that a brand new or freshly cleaned K&N will generally bring higher si #'s than a unit with a coating of dirt on it. K&N even say that their filters keep out dirt more effectively when dirty.

Why do any of you use a K&N? What benefits do you derive if equals the performance of paper filter with respect to filtering?

Regards,

Rich