Jeep Corrosion Warranty Boondoggle

This is a fun one. My girlfriend's JL Moab Wrangler had the very common galvanic corrosion showing on the Hood, two doors, and door hinges. Basically, looked like rust bubbles but special aluminum ones. If you don't know, all these newer Wranglers and Gladiators have this. Some get it after only a year. There's a 200+ page thread on the main Jeep Forum about it.

It went in on November 4th to be fixed. They had it for a month. I made sure to go with her to pick it up because I know my paint. I don't do it for a living, but I've been painting cars myself for about 5 years and doing detailing and correction work for over 15 years.

On the first attempt they spot-repaired all the bad spots and did not re-clear the panels, they blended the clear into the small sections about 3"x8" and then buffed it hard. I know Ford replaces whole panels when they have corrosion under warranty. Jeep apparently Does Not. In one area they left it wet-sanded and forgot to buff it. The paint was micro-marred badly where they worked. On the Hood, they had to take a MOAB sticker off to fix it and opted to peel stickers off both sides since they didn't have replacements and left it that way... They chipped up the hood when removing the stickers with, I'm guessing, a razor blade. It looked like the best job a guy using spray cans could do. So I talked this out with the Service Director and everyone was in agreement that it was not acceptable work. I was assured that the shop usually does great work and it would be made right. I implied that I thought the shop was taking advantage of the dealership.