Innova 3160, Autoenginuity, or ???

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm seriously considering a scan tool and want one able to read ABS codes as well. Vehicles for immediate use are 2001 Regal, 2007 Accord, and 2010 Cobalt. Other vehicles I'd likely use it on owned by family and close friends would be 2005 Jetta, and late model Charger and Dodge P/U. Wife said the Regal threw a code and ABS light came on this morning but reset after shutting it off and restarting. My procrastination on this subject is now coming to an end lol.

In the past I've always just counted light flashes or gone down to Autozone to read codes. I've never used a true scan tool before but figure it's probably a good thing to have around when I really need it. My first question is will a reasonably intelligent guy like me (yeah right
wink.gif
) who is not an auto tech by trade put to use a $200+ scan tool or is the learning curve fairly steep and it's a waste of money? So maybe just by a cheap code reader or the bluetooth dongle thingy and Torque on my android phone? I like the idea of being able to access the info. not only for diagnostic purposes but also to be a little proactive by observing trends as well, if that's possible?

Assuming a scan tool is a good purchase, which one? I read good things about the Innova 3160 found here. http://www.amazon.com/INNOVA-3160-Diagno...ds=innova+3160b

I also see this Innova 31603 which appears to be similar, other than the interface and a few bucks more. http://www.amazon.com/INNOVA-31603-CarSc...ds=innova+31603

Then, I hear about Autoenginuity which is a program to install on a laptop for around $250? Is it worth it for me?

I'd like to be as future-proof as possible for any vehicles I may own down the road, since it'll likely see infrequent use and want to get my money's worth.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any and all replies.