How long for the license plate registration?

I got a Camry Hybrid last weekend. The dealership was lazy to transfer the plates so will be getting new ones. They use some sort of service to do the registrations and wasn't sure how to work that out.

Any idea how long it usually takes to get the new plates from the DMV? This is my first time the dealership registering the vehicle. The dealership is in NH and the registration is in NY. The DMV says to expect 2 weeks to process and deliver registration. My temp plates are valid for 20 days.

Thanks in advance..

I know here in GA, when I bought the Ranger there was some kind of mixup or slowdown and it took forever to get my plates. The dealership just gave me a new temp tag in the meantime. No telling how it works in different states, but the dealership might be able to do that.

Every state has their own contest of how slow they can be. If you get pulled over, you simply tell the police that the plates haven’t arrived yet. I actually got some new tags in the mail last Friday and it took 9 days.

During the pandemic I bought a used car. Since the Secretary of state (our version of the DMV) was closed and there were no appointments available for almost 4 months I made a copy of the old signed title and put it in the glovebox. In place of the plate I placed a sticker that said "Plate missing due to our state being run by idiots" I never had an issue and finally got my plates 4 months after. The funniest part was they charged me a $15 late fee because the registration wasnt done within 14 days of the sale. I got my money back after I wrote a letter and explained it was their fault. I never got a note back or anything, just a $15 credit back to my card. ;)

Pretty good here in FL. As long as everything is filled out properly, it's in one door and out the other. Maybe a half hour.