Help me choose right oil for my car.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello guys, first sorry about my writting.

cars:
05 S2000 65k ( Valvoline, pennzoil and amsoil )
03 4runner 110k ( any dino oil )

Service manual recommand
S2000: 5w40/10w30
4runner: 5w30/10w?(30 or 40...)

Driving style:
S2000: most of times it stays in garage, no track time but i do drive hard when i bring it out. ( 2~3 times a week )
4runner: my working car since last summer. I drive a lot...everyday and most of days easily 200+ milies a day (7days).

Now i like to use syn on both of my cars, it will be a lot easier for me to do oil change and also i think it would be nice to using syn on my 4runner. Ok, i did a lot research on this forum... 4runner/s2000 forums as well. But since i'm new to oil, i like to get an advice from you guys.

Here is list that i "think" it would be perfect for using both of cars.

For 5w40,
-RTS T6
-Castrol
-Mobil 1 TDT

For 5w30,
-Castrol syntec

I've read pennzoil that has CF-5 and i do not sure if it is worthy.
coffee2.gif

Thanks guys!!!!

Regarding the 4runner: Are you comfortable with extended drains? 200 clicks a day every day is over 5000 per month!

You're a prime candidate for Amsoil's 25K synthetics (SSO, ASL)
Is that the V6 4Runner with the oil filter on top of the engine bay?

For 4runner, since i drive a lot and everyday, i like to keep oil change at 3k~5k.
smile.gif

Yeah, oil filter is on top. I tried amsoil on my S2k for first time, i like how it feels. But on 4runner...i don't know, i rather use fresh motor oil after 3k~5k.

Couple more newbie questions...
1. I have about half bottle(qt) amsoil 5w30 in my garage, can i use that in other synt motor oil?
2. what's OCI?

Thanks!

Originally Posted By: s2krunner
For 4runner, since i drive a lot and everyday, i like to keep oil change at 3k~5k.
smile.gif