Hearing Aids

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm seeking some advise and personal experience from anyone who uses hearing aids and what to look for in price,quality,and what is just junk.
This is for a friend who is a 78 year old machinist,any help would be great.

I have little experience besides amusing myself with hearing aids, etc as my mother was a speech pathologist and had samples.

I read that one can buy a hearing aid that you can program yourself via a bluetooth app. I think one of the large costs is the fitting and programming.

Your friend needs to get a hearing evaluation first, to identify what his hearing problems are. I used an audiologist associated with an ENT clinic for that evaluation.

Ended up with ReSound hearing aids that I am happy with. They ran about $1800 each three years ago and have performed well. I used a Blue Cross preferred provider from an ENT clinic. My Blue Cross covered all the hearing aid costs. At the time, Costco sold a similar package at a similar price.

Since your friend is on Medicare, he may be paying for the hearing aids, unless he has some other additional insurance.

Mom has a pair that's cost over $2000 bucks ten years ago. Industry designed to rip off people. Micorelectronics have come way down in cost over the past 15 years an this tech needn't cost over 1000-.
There are decent ones you can get online for a few hundred dollars. Better off with the behind the ear electronics and mic with an audio tube to the ear canal. Easier to clean and repair and battery up. You just need a unit with a decent compander and dynamic limiter. Freq tweeking and comp is more for younger folks.

I've worn them for 20 years, since my early 30's.

I've had Siemens, Phonak, others. The price of the aid is less important than the ability of the 78 year old to be willing to accept change, and also the multiple trips back for small adjustments to the sound.