Fun but frustrating day at the range

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a novice shooter who has always wanted to get into shooting sports, specifically pistol shooting for quite a few years now. I took a handgun safety course about 15 years ago, and went shooting with a coworker and two of his friends about five years ago. I enjoyed both experiences quite a bit but never got around to doing it again.

Fast-forward a few years to now and my boss wants to take me shooting with his friends since he knows I've been wanting to do so for a long time now. But he also knows I've been complaining how bad my eyesight has been getting, specifically my need for reading glasses to see anything within arm's reach. I tell him I should be fine, it's not that bad.

Well, I was wrong. With the safety glasses on, sights on the gun were a blur but the target was clear. Swap them out for my cheaters and the sights were perfect but the target was mush. It was very disheartening to have waited this long to go shooting again only to have this problem. It wasn't dangerous but I sure couldn't work on improving my accuracy. As I said, frustrating. Time for a long-delayed trip to the eye doctor.

The good thing is that I got to shoot a few different guns. A customized 1911, a 4" revolver in .44 Special, an HK VP9, a S&W M&P M2.0, and believe it or not, a genuine fully automatic Uzi. That thing was interesting to say the least!

When shooting handguns you're looking at the front sight. It should be sharp and the target is going to be fuzzy for most people. What distance? New shooters should be shooting 10 yards or less.

Originally Posted By: Bottom_Feeder
Well, I was wrong. With the safety glasses on, sights on the gun were a blur but the target was clear. Swap them out for my cheaters and the sights were perfect but the target was mush.

This is what you want. Actually only the front sight needs to be in focus. Put it on the same part of the mush every time.