Fuel Power, spark plug picture

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using fuel power in my 95 Camaro Z28 for a few months now and I recently decided to replace my Bosch Platinum +4 plugs. Here is a picture of my #1 plug. The rest looked about the same.

-

Are those soft carbon deposits from the use of fuel power? The actual part that sparks is in fine condition, but I replaced them anyway. They had about 25k on them.
I drive the car plenty hard but I am worried that my combustion chamber, pistons and valves may have this same coating on them. What should I do?

quote:

Originally posted by cryptokid:
you cant see where the flame front goes based on cabron buildup. thats rubbish and wishfull thinking.

what you can see is that the tips of the ground straps get hot enough to burn carbon off, where as the base of the ground straps do not get hot enough to burn carbon off.

If the mixture was burning completely, the buildup on the base of the plug would not exist. These plugs are known to cause problems. I still say he should get them out of there, if he hasn't already done so. Besides, when plugs foul, the whole thing typically fouls, not just the base. He was getting incomplete combustion from this plug, plain and simple.

The Bosch +4's are a crap shoot--some cars they work ok, most seem to have problems. The center electrodes on my +4's receded into the ceramic insulator and looked a range too hot with my VR6 on the front bank of cylinders. I'd say go with your OEM plug, or maybe a NGK equivalent.

I switched to NGK TR55 (3951), which are copper. I noticed no difference. BTW, all the plugs looked like this. I'll take a picture of all 8 lined up tonight after work. I think the problem with the +4s was that the center electrode sort of disintegrates and causes a misfire on that cylinder. Mine, I thought, all looked healthy in that department.