Frantz filter

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a New Holland combine with 3208 cat
engine. Could a toliet paper filter be put on
this engine? We put about 250 hrs on this engine
every harvest and then is parked for another year.

I was thinking that, rather than spend extra
money on a big unit, get the small TP filter and
change the filter every 100 hrs.

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks
Bron32

I am by no means an expert, but on large sumps I have read about running Frantz filters in parallel. I just installed a Frantz on my tractor hydraulic / transmission (10 gallons) and just used one filter, but there is a big difference in contamination produced between engine oil and hydraulic / transmission fluid. The Frantz engine oil filter on my diesel works great, but my tractor is much smaller than a combine.
I read up on the hydraulic filter specs for my tractor and it was rated 'nominal' at 60 microns, meaning 50% of 60 micron particles will be filtered. I plan on running the Frantz hydraulic filter about 2 hours every 25 operating hours for starters. It's an independent system that uses a 12v pump to get the fluid from the resevoir drain - to the filter - and back to the resevoir fill. The down side is that I can only run it while the tractor is off to prevent the hydraulic pump from cavitating and foaming the fluid.

Bron32,