Ferrari 488 GTLM

I shot some video for an IMSA race team a few years ago... I rememembered them saying they used "off the shelf" Pennzoil, but this bottle had no markings... I had no experience with motorsports at the time but i became obsessed with endurance racing after this job. This car ran for 7 hours with a failed water pump and still finished on the podium with engine temps hitting 130° C.

I'm an oil noob, I found this forum to educate myself but I always thought that was impressive.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 9.51.46 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 9.51.46 AM.jpg
    66.9 KB · Views: 65
  • Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 9.52.01 AM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 9.52.01 AM.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 65
We will never actually know if they actually use the oil that the bottle label says it is. Racing costs huge Dollars.

Just a marketing thing.

Monster energy drinks makes cans of water that look exactly like a can of energy drink for sponsored athletes to drink. Since they need to be constantly repping the product but would likely die if they drank them all day at events.

Looks like the bottle had a generic label with no viscosity on the label.
The bottle is pristine and is being poured with perfectly framed full label visibility.
As well, if the bottle is full, it gets poured with the spout up, not down.

Which leads me to think its an "advertising play" with who knows what oil is actually being poured into that engine.

I believe this is called 'product placement'. I would wager that it is a Pennzoil product for a few business reasons, but given the racing environment at that level, it is probably some recipe blended to eek out as much power and just enough protection for whatever conditions apply...Ferrari and Pennzoil can afford that.

Looks like the bottle had a generic label with no viscosity on the label.
The OP said the bottle had "no markings" then they attach pictures of Pennzoil bottles. Not sure what is going on....

Sorry