Economy Dino Oil's

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Everyone,

I am still quite new to all this oil stuff - I posted UOA's for my Silverado and Tundra in the UOA forum, which leads me to these questions:

1. When comparing cheaper dino oils (i.e. Formula Shell, Valvoline, Petro-Canada, Quaker State, Pennzoil, etc...) is there any that really stand out above the others? Around here they all sell for $22-26/5L jug. I currently use FS because I get a discount and pay about $20/5L. Right now Walmart has Valvoline 5w30 on sale for $9.97/5L - seems like a great deal.

2. The silverao specs 5w30, Tundra 5w20 - I'm wondering if I could get away with running 5w30 in both to make things simpler (one less oil to stock)? what are your thoughts?

Pennzoil generally stands above the rest for their additive packages. Tons of great results from Pennzoil and Shell.

I am a Valvoline fan but I lean more towards Max Life myself, because of the additive package. So whenever I buy Valvoline I usually pick up Max Life.

Kendall is also a really great oil and is on sale at Alco right now for $2.99/qt. (do you have Alco up there?)

Originally Posted By: zerosoma
Pennzoil generally stands above the rest

I disagree, there are many good dinos out there. I think that Pennzoil shears more than other dinos and avoid it for that reason.

I like Mobil Super myself. Excellent UOA results, 9.0 TBN. I think it's marketed different in Canada, though, so whatever they call their 5000 mile dino up there
smile.gif

We dont have Alco around here. I haven't come across Kendall oil anywhere either (but I havent been specifically looking for it so maybe I just didn't notice it). Does anyone know where to buy Kendall oil in Canada?

What about Petro-Canada oil? Is it available in the States? I have always been lead to believe it is a high quality oil but have no facts to prove this.

$9.97 for 5 liters of Valvoline?