Driving with the windows fully down on the highway

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've noticed a lot of people do this but always wondered why. When driving around town, I like dropping the windows if it isn't too hot because the breeze feels great. But on the highway, the wind noise becomes so irritating and frankly unbearable. The radio's hard to hear unless it's turned up super high and it becomes difficult to talk to passengers. I'm no expert, but doesn't drag increase at higher speeds with the windows all the way down, negatively affecting gas mileage? I've seen drivers of cars -- both old and new -- doing this so it can't be the A/C is busted in all cases.

I could never own a convertible
grin.gif

Last edited:
Lots of people aren't car people like us on this forum, and don't think or care about mpg. Some people like the windows all the way down, some cracked. Some people who don't know better probably think they are getting better gas mileage with their windows down by not using A/C.

I think that driving with the windows down on the hiwy gives a person a sense of freedom. And the wind noise though it may be loud, also adds to that feeling of freedom.

Not all cars are as loud on the hiwy as others with the windows all the way down. I like it myself and I can't explain further. Like riding on a Harley or in a convertible. I've often driven with the windows down and the A/C on!

Hope you find the answer!
smile.gif

Last edited:
Somewhere I'd read a study that suggested the mileage difference wasn't all that significant with windows up/ac on, vs. windows down with ac off. I wish I could find it again.

If you asked me, I've done both with no regard to mileage, just how I feel. If I have passengers, the windows usually go up at highway speed if we're talking.

Below 40 mph I have no problem with open windows,over that the buffeting is a bit much.Windows closed or at least cracked open (Ventshades equipped) at that point.

Originally Posted By: mclasser