Differences Between Magnatec, Edge and Havoline ProDS ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can anyone tell me the fundamental info about Castrol Edge, Castrol Magnatec and Havoline ProDS in the 0w20 and 5w30 varieties? I'm interested in what is known about their base stocks and additives.

FWIW, I've been using bulk Milesyn for many years with very good success but the price has steadily increased to the same as these name brands. Soon, I'll be doing another round of OCs on the 5 family cars and its going to wipe-out my last 5 gallon pails of Milesyn. Between all the cars I need to have 0w20 and 5w30 on hand.

E.g: What are their primary base stocks? Does Edge and Magnatec use the same base stock with different additives or, is it the other way around? How do the base stocks and additives of Havoline ProDS compare to the Castrol products?

Thanks...

Ray

Originally Posted by RayCJ

Can anyone tell me the fundamental info about Castrol Edge, Castrol Magnatec and Havoline ProDS in the 0w20 and 5w30 varieties? I'm interested in what is known about their base stocks and additives.

FWIW, I've been using bulk Milesyn for many years with very good success but the price has steadily increased to the same as these name brands. Soon, I'll be doing another round of OCs on the 5 family cars and its going to wipe-out my last 5 gallon pails of Milesyn. Between all the cars I need to have 0w20 and 5w30 on hand.

E.g: What are their primary base stocks? Does Edge and Magnatec use the same base stock with different additives or, is it the other way around? How do the base stocks and additives of Havoline ProDS compare to the Castrol products?

Thanks...

Ray

How many miles/months on your oil changes? If you're not extending your change intervals the answer is "there's no real difference, use the one that's on sale or any other major brand that's on sale", IMO.

If you're extending your interval, I'll let the more knowledgeable describe their differences.

bulk Milesyn