Craftsman Push Mower Starts and Stalls

Small engine novice here.

I have an oldish craftsman self propelled push mower that I picked up used earlier this year. Basically, acquired from someone that had let it sit for a few seasons unused. Didn't have gas in it when I was picking it up and was offered free as is so it was not like they were trying to hide anything. One part missing which is the handle, I swap another handle from a spare mower which is not an exact fit but works.

Brought home, figured just for kicks fresh gas and would give it a pull and see what happened, started right up. Do a little poking around, oil was a little overfilled (drained and refilled), lots of debris here and there (cleaned out the air filter), residue on the carb and back of the air filter housing (assuming from gas sitting at some point, or from lack of use when it was in service - small lawns where I picked it up and likely stored outside), put on the to do list.

Life goes on, I cut the lawn a few times and have cycled through 3 or 4 tanks of gas. Go to start it a week or two ago and it starts, no problem, I go to mow, 5 or 10 minutes in it stalls. Go to pull to restart and best I can do is get it to turn over and immediately stall. Remove air filter try to start, no improvement (starts and stalls), new spark plug try to start (starts and stalls). At this point figure time to clean the carb, or something is causing it to not get gas. I remove and disassemble, brake cleaner/carb cleaner everything and reassemble. Pull to start, it starts and stalls. Ok, frustrated, do something else and come back an hour or so later. About to show my lack of knowledge of more troubleshooting from here...