Cooper Evolution HT

Anyone with experience with the Cooper Evolution HT series?
Supposedly they won a new product award at SEMA a few years back.
Considering them for my GMC 1/2 ton 4x4. Strictly highway and no off road travel.

I have no experience with this particular tire. However, the tread design is very similar to the old Cooper CS3 Touring tires. The CS3s were very good tires. I had a set on a 2006 Hyundai Tucson. I would imagine that Cooper just did some tweaking and improved the load limit for the Evolution H/T. They will likely serve you well in everyday driving. If you do a lot of towing, I would look for something else.

I do occasionally tow a 3,800 lb boat. Usually twice a year. Service and cleaning etc. The Michelin Defender would be my preference but just not in my budget. Saw the Continental TerrainContact HT and they are priced similarly to the Cooper but don’t know much about those either. Trying to avoid another set of Goodyear Wrangler SRA tires. Quiet (Initially) but short lived...

Last edited:
I have the Cooper Evolution Tour currently on my Equinox. They replaced the OEM Michelin Latitude that came on the vehicle. I have almost 16,000 miles on the tires now and they are overall better than the Michelin. Quieter, ride better. Steering response is virtually the same. Wet weather performance is OK. They will spin from a start on a wet/damp road, and can get squirrelly if you go too quickly in to a curve or turn on a wet road. Snow performance is adequate, I am sure the AWD on my Equinox helps somewhat with regards to that.

Treadlife has been OK. They started with 9/32" when new, and are down to about 6/32" on all 4 corners now after 16,000 miles.

I would definitely buy Cooper tires again, although I would probably go for a tire in the Discoverer line next time.