Bogus home appraisal

Maybe as a woman she felt uncomfortable with you ?
l‘m not saying you’re a creep...... but she really doesn’t know you.

Bad vibe / episode of Forensic Files flashes into her head going into dark basement of foreclosed house with you.... ?

I‘m sure you’re a decent guy.
Well I am a real estate broker so they meet with brokers all the time and it's on their calendar so it's not like she could just disappear without anyone knowing what happened to her. We are licensed by the state so having a criminal background could be grounds for denial of a license.

That would be more likely if the client is meeting with you for the first time.

I think she was just afraid to go into a dark basement with cobwebs and a dirt floor.

With the super low interest rates, I decided to refinance my home mortgage. Company has been great and the rate is low.

Last week the appraiser came out and looked the house over. Got the appraisal yesterday. It was MUCH lower than I anticipated. We had paid the house down quite a bit, so it was kind of a moot point as the amount financed is much lower than the bogus appraisal.

My house is less than three years old. Notable items in the appraisal:

He had the house at 2200 Square foot. It's over 2600.

Had garage as a two car. It's a four car.

Had one fireplace. We have two.

Has it as three bedrooms, we have four.

Appraised pool at 20k. It is a high end pool, from a very respected pool builder, and needless to say it was quite a bit more than 20k installed two years ago.

If I put the house up for sale at the appraised price, it would sell immediately.

Thoughts?
This is interesting, the exact same thing happened to us a couple of moths ago!

We have bought and sold eight houses over the years, and the recent appraisal was an absolute joke this time...as you pointed out they missed basic stuff, and the cost was double what the bank quoted. The guy was here for literally 20 minutes.