black Honda, needs full correction... advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings ladies and gents... I posted this over at autotopia with not much feedback.

Mind you, I'm a hobbyist, not a professional detailer.

I'll try to be short and to the point-

Vehicle:
2002 Honda Accord, black (unsure of color name, look like it has a bit of dark, dark blue flake in stock paint). 146,000 miles. Purchased vehicle in '06 used w/ 62K. Wife's car, daily driver She's hard on it in every aspect (interior, exterior, brakes, you get it...)

Environment: Live in Vancouver, WA. Rain for 8+ months out of the year. Some snow/sleet/ice and usually encounter de-icer on roadways 10+ times a year. Temps in Winter are usually high 20's- low 50's. Summer is very dry and can be dusty, mid 50's lows- 95 highs.

Paint condition:
Hazing, marring, deep scratches, oxidation, swirls present. You name it, it's in the paint. Good news is, no clear coat failure noted. Needs full correction. In the time we have owned the car, I've never had any sort of wheel on the car.

My experience level: I have used a rotary on my truck and another vehicle but never on black paint. The rotary I have is an older Makita (1998, not sure of model #). I understand the rotary could possible make the task 'faster' but I've got time. However, I just purchased a DA for use since I'm not THAT confident in my rotary skills. Mind you, when I used the rotary I didn't burn or necessarily ruin any paint I've been on but I'm sure the clarity isn't what it should have been either.
I've read up on DA operation and watched some videos regarding proper technique. This will be the first time with a DA but I'm confident I can learn a decent technique half way through.

Plan:

Wash, two bucket system.

Clay

Compound (if necessary)

Mild-compound

Polish

Sealant/ Wax

Regarding products/equipment...