BITOG Freemasons

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've always been curious about Freemasonry and thought someday I'd look into it. There's a ton of info on the web but I don't know how to discern the truth about it from the nonsense. There has to be at least a few on here so what can you tell me about it? What's the purpose of the Freemasons in 2014. How will I benefit from my involvement? I'm as busy as anyone so I want to make sure it's worth the time. And I'm 28 years old by the way.

Masons are varied by group here. One lodge carries on much differently than the next. I considered it once but passed.

Originally Posted By: The_Captain
They take a good man and make him better.

I'm sure in many cases that is true.
all i can tell you is that my Grandma's 3 Brothers were all Masons. of the 3, only 1 was the kind of person i would associate with were we not related.

It will be one of the best decisions you ever made. I am 29 years old, and I am also a line officer in my Lodge. It is the oldest and largest fraternity in the world. A brotherhood full of great men, some of the greatest men I've ever met. You will meet men from every walk of life there. From judges, sheriffs, teachers, construction workers to gas station clerks. In the Lodge we are equal, a mans wealth mean nothing. Want to know anything else PM me.

As far as the Lodges being different state to state. There are some minor differences as far as ceremony goes, but all the principles are the same. You can be from Ohio and walk into a Lodge in Florida.

Been a 32 degree Mason since 1996. Some great lessons to be learned and you will learn about yourself in more ways than you thought possible. Around here, the lodges are dying. Masons were very popular around the 70's and back. Unfortunently, we haven't been able to recruit younger generations into the lodges. A lot of members are simply departing this earth. Not sure what the lodge status is up north.

It wasn't a great fit for me.