Big problem with hard oil build up inside of engin

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am brand new to this board and need some help fast. I have many years of engine building experience and am no stranger to oil related problems. Oil has changed many times since I started my car related activities 40 years ago.
Here is my problem. The car is a 2000 Dodge Carvan we bought new and have change the oil regularly at 3000 miles. We do live in a hot climate( West Texas) and most of our trips are short. I have had the car serviced at a friends service station since new. His Texaco station carried Havoline in bulk so that is what we used. About a year ago, he closed down. Rather than go to an oil change place, I change my own. I bought a lift for the shop and love it.The 3.3 motor has about 110,000 miles on the clock. I use good filters. The last oil change (1300 miles ago), I used Valvoline 10w-30 and 1/2 quart of Lucas oil additive. I have had very good results with Lucas in my Jr dragsters. I built my own engines and saw very little wear using Mobil 1 and 1 oz of Lucas in my 7.90 motors.
Friday night my wife called and said the oil light was on in the car and it was even "dinging' at her; meaning the warning bell was going off. I told her to pull over immediately and she said " NO, I'm almost home, anyway." As I ran out into the garage, she was just pulling in the garage. As she slowly and carefully parked the car as usual, the lifters were banging like crazy. I'll skip the part where I end up sleeping on the couch because I upset her and go to the problem with the engine.