Battery trickle charger?

I searched but didn't seem to find a direct answer.

Looking at getting a battery tender to hook up to my 2019 Silverado. It gets used but on short trips and not much for long drives and sites days on end some times. With all the electronics on these vehicles now, is it possible to hook up a tender without damage to the electronics? Also direct to the battery I would think would be better correct?

So if it is something I can do, recommendations on what would be a good tender to get?

I was looking at this one. The 800ma to me is perfect for a maintainer and not have issues with any other electronics. But I'm no electrician.
This is the only charger I’ve ever had a real issue with. It started charging to high 15’s or more. Manufacturer verified it was an issue.

Personally I’d go with the NOCO genius 1 or 2, or the battery minder 1510 or 2012. Fits flooded battery the 1510 is good and has a thermistor to optimize float voltage.

I used the Delran Battery tender plus for many years. Not many bells and whistles like the NOCO Gensis series and the CTEK’s, but it worked flawlessly. And it has a great feature that the others don’t have: a metal case. Which can come in handy if you run over it once every 4 or 5 years. Mine is a little scuffed up, but otherwise 100% functional.

Last summer Amazon ran a very tempting sale on the NOCO’s, and I sprang for the Genius 5 at less than 1/2 price. Now my Delran is semi-retired and waiting for me to run over the NOCO.

I think for most people you can’t go wrong with any of the big three: CTEK, NOCO Genius’s , or the Delran Battery Plus (1.5A). I wouldn’t get the lower rated Delran’s however.

Z

I've been using a Battery Tender Junior for 25 years now. Same one. I use it on whatever I'm not driving, I just continually move it from vehicle to vehicle.
me too, but just for 6+ years. works great, just $25.

Attachments

• B8167100-11C9-4FEB-AF3A-5A182E6D6BED.jpeg
    B8167100-11C9-4FEB-AF3A-5A182E6D6BED.jpeg