Any Problems With Running "Diesel-Oil" In EVERYTHING?

Status
Not open for further replies.
To Start:
1998 Dodge Ram 24-Valve Cummins
1995 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1L V-6
1996 Volvo 850 Non-Turbo 2.4L I-5
1976 Honda CB400F

Do you guys see any problems with doing this? Since the top three (Rotella, Delo, and Delvac) are all rated to the latest API spark-ignition rating, I see no problems (although they are not "energy conserving", so fuel economy will suffer a little bit.)

With over 100,000 on both the Lumina and Volvo, I would think the standard 15w-40 would be a good choice (at least in non-winter months).

All opinions and suggestions are welcome!

Thanks,

Justin.

[ March 10, 2003, 10:48 PM: Message edited by: Justin ]

I have been running Delo in everything for many years now. This includes Ford and Chevrolet V-8's, a Chevrolet V-6 and a BMW straight six. There was no measureable difference in fuel mileage on the V-6 when I changed over from Valvoline 10W-30 at about 80,000 miles. Oil consumption on that engine was significantly reduced. I use the same oil all year because the coldest temperatures I ever see are above +10F.

quote:

Originally posted by Jimbo:
I have been running Delo in everything for many years now. This includes Ford and Chevrolet V-8's, a Chevrolet V-6 and a BMW straight six. There was no measureable difference in fuel mileage on the V-6 when I changed over from Valvoline 10W-30 at about 80,000 miles. Oil consumption on that engine was significantly reduced. I use the same oil all year because the coldest temperatures I ever see are above +10F.

So you had no problems when you switched over to 15w-40 Delo?

BTW...I understand "diesel" oils are made for diesels...high compression, low revs.

Is there anything to be worried about when using these oils in extremely high RPM applications (such as the motorcycle), or are the same things that make it good in diesels also apply to the gassers?