Any Golfers in here?

Due to a change in role, learning golf will be beneficial to me. I plan to take some lessons, but was curious if the golfers on this forum can point me to some reading materials for learning and provide some advice on equipment.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Best to get lessons from a PGA professional. Will allow you to learn the game without developing bad habits that are difficult to correct. The best lessons I have had were with a company named Golftec. They utilize video and position sensors to analyze your swing. The video feedback is incredibly helpful.

Regarding clubs…. Where to start. There are players clubs, game improving and super game improvement. Steel or graphite shafts. Different swingweights. All these to develop the best club suited for your swing. Impossible to know what would work best for you as a new golfer. You can probably get some insight from your instructor.

Likely your first set won’t be your last. I have been playing for 60 years. It is easy to be seduced by all the hype from the major club manufacturers. In 2015 I was fitted for clubs. After an exhausting analysis (and I mean exhausting) I picked the club heads, shafts and grips that gave me the best numbers, looked good (very important believe it or not) and felt great. Never looked back. I know if I hit a crap shot, it is all on me.

Last edited:
Due to a change in role, learning golf will be beneficial to me. I plan to take some lessons, but was curious if the golfers on this forum can point me to some reading materials for learning and provide some advice on equipment.

Thanks.

What change in role ??

Work role change ?

I’d tell you to watch old Golf major tournaments.. Like the Masters, British Optn, The PGA, The US Open.

Why ?

Because knowing the history of the game is helpful too. If you are going to be around others who have played a long time…. Then you will know about the history of the game of golf.

Start with the 4th round of the 1986 Masters…