Amazon fire cube

JC1

Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
6,739
Location
Oshawa, Ontario Canada
I noticed a new firestick was coming out soon with an upgraded processor from 1.7ghz to 1.8. I looked at the specs on Amazon and noticed the Fire Cube has a 2.2ghz processor and 2 GB and ram and we GB of storage.

I decided to pull the trigger and buy one for the main family room tv. I use an IPTV service and sometimes the signal over wifi buffers and changing channels can lag some time.

Set up the new fire cube and always having fun downloading apps etc and re entering passwords etc.

My wifi is usually 40-50mbs via the TP link Deco mesh system. Anyhow the fire cube is much faster and smoother. I'm the box is a wired ethernet adapter as well, which is normally a separate purchase.

I don't have ethernet run to the TVs, but the deco communicates between bases wirelessly and I decided to see if I could use the deco wired to the fire cube. I'm surprised it works.

On the IPTV smarters app you can have multi screen. I decided to try and watch 4 NFL games at once. It was lagging a bit. Three games seems to be better. My wired cable internet is 150mbs. I may have to upgrade. Note with the other firestick and wireless internet multiple screens would lag most of the time. Looks like the fire cube with wired internet can keep up.

Attached are some pics for your enjoyment.

I cut the cord in Feb 2020 and happy I did.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210912_170521909.jpg
    IMG_20210912_170521909.jpg
    103.3 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_20210912_170351905.jpg
    IMG_20210912_170351905.jpg
    96 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_20210912_172143370.jpg
    IMG_20210912_172143370.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_20210912_172131621.jpg
    IMG_20210912_172131621.jpg
    85.5 KB · Views: 22
  • IMG_20210912_172115870.jpg
    IMG_20210912_172115870.jpg
    114.4 KB · Views: 21
Last edited:

JC1

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
6,739
Location
Oshawa, Ontario Canada
Yeah I agree. Looks good.
I don't like the feel of the new firestick remotes. Feel cheap...
I've seen some guys get the full keypad with keyboard. The firestick lite is a pain. No volume controls. (The first gen firestick was the same).




😭
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
8
Location
TN
You might try connecting the Fire Cube to the wifi as I believe the speeds are faster than the network device. I tried the network and found that it buffered. No issues with my AC wifi connection.
 

JC1

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
6,739
Location
Oshawa, Ontario Canada
Does the fire cube have a LAN PORT?
Yes it has an external cable you can use for a lan cable. It comes free with the fire cube. Some people buy it to use with the regular firestick. It also has a micro usb with it which you need to power a regular firestick. The Fire cube is like an alexa has a plug with a barrel connection.

Here is a link to it.

https://www.amazon.com/Amazon-Ether...jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

You might try connecting the Fire Cube to the wifi as I believe the speeds are faster than the network device. I tried the network and found that it buffered. No issues with my AC wifi connection.
I'll try that. What speed Is your internet? I've only got 150mbs cable. Been debating of I should go to 500mb or 1gb cable internet.
 

JC1

Thread starter
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
6,739
Location
Oshawa, Ontario Canada
Antenna and 4K Firesticks in living room and bedrooms. Cutting the cord in 2016 never felt soo good. Glad to hear the cube is working well for you. Have a second generation cube & not impressed with it any longer.

Just to be clear I'm happy with it for using my IPTV service and switching between apps. The extra memory and processor speeds makes for a better user experience. The regular firestick is ok, but this is like driving a V8 compared to a 4 banger! Lol
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
581
Location
Conway, sc
Yes it has an external cable you can use for a lan cable. It comes free with the fire cube. Some people buy it to use with the regular firestick. It also has a micro usb with it which you need to power a regular firestick. The Fire cube is like an alexa has a plug with a barrel connection.

Here is a link to it.

https://www.amazon.com/Amazon-Ether...jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==


I'll try that. What speed Is your internet? I've only got 150mbs cable. Been debating of I should go to 500mb or 1gb cable internet.
Very cool device for adding a lan port. 👍
 
  • Like
Reactions: JC1
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
3,080
Location
Lakeside, CA
I just cut the cord a few months ago. I went with 4k Firesticks in the living room and bedroom. I am using a 150mbps cable connection. I love it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JC1
Top