75W-110 Gear Oils

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ford specs 75w-90/80w-90 for civilian Vics and 75w-140 for CVPIs but it's the same diff...

I'm torn between using 75w-90 for improved fuel economy and 75w-140 for better protection during aggressive driving or extended highway trips that may or may not involve higher than suggested operating speeds. Obviously my usage is not as severe as typical police use, but it's also not your average grandma driving.

It looks like there are a few companies making 75W-110, one of them being Amsoil. I've never used Amsoil products before. but I'm thinking this seems like a good middle ground in terms of fuel economy and protection at high temperatures.

Anybody used 75W-110 before, and if it's a good idea, where can I buy this at the best price? The price seems reasonable compared to other quality synthetic gear oils like Royal Purple (which is what was gonna end up in this diff before I came across that Amsoil), etc. I plan to change it every 60K miles.

https://www.amsoil.com/shop/by-product/gear-lube/severe-gear-75w-110/

Last edited:
I was thinking the exact same thing this morning. I just did the differentials on both of my Jeeps and plan on doing my 88 E-150 possibly next week. I was thinking of using 75W-90, or 75W-110, which is not easy to find locally. I shot my buddy Trav an email and went with his recommendation of 75W-140 for the Ford.

I'd just use 75w-140 if you're worried about it. Amsoil has a pretty good price on it. Get with Pablo.

Originally Posted By: hatt
I'd just use 75w-140 if you're worried about it. Amsoil has a pretty good price on it. Get with Pablo.

I wouldn't say worried is the right word. But for the same price as 140, the 110 will give be better fuel economy and I drive quite a bit. I'm sure calming down my driving habits matters more than the viscosity of the gear oil in the rear diff but money saved is always good.

Last edited: