2004 Toyota Avalon Reduced Shifting Performance

Status
Not open for further replies.
Other than reporting some oil deals this is my first time posting outside of the deals and rebates forum. Obviously I'm looking for a bit of expertise or experience.

Roughly 1000 miles ago I purchased a 1 owner 2004 Toyota Avalon XLS with the A541E transmission. Service history on the vehicle was very complete with receipts indicating an independent shop owned by a former Toyota master tech performed Transmission services at 47K and again at 63K. These services occurred in 2013 and 2015 respectively. The vehicle was owned by a senior citizen who was a retired locomotive mechanic. His records included handwritten notes and were extremely "proactive" with even part numbers included. The car's interior and exterior are fantastic for 15 years old so indications are the car was respected and was driven appropriately. Admittedly these are only observations and I know the life the car actually lived is unknown.

I purchased the vehicle with 103K miles on it. The vehicle spent its first 4 years in NY and the rest of its life in coastal SC. Everything ran well on the vehicle and I was seeing 27MPG at 75MPH on flat land. I also noticed the shifting "felt" normal. Not knowing how many short trips it has seen since 67K, and assuming the light golden color of the transmission fluid meant a change was in order, I began a cycle of multiple drain and fill intervals. The original fluid was not dark brown, did not smell burned, and still smelled like transmission fluid. I could not notice any remaining reddish color though. I have nothing on my receipts indicating what type of fluid was used by the independent shop.