Oil choice for 07 GSXR 600

Status
Not open for further replies.
First off I am not sure where to post this....

I will be buying an 07 GSXR 600 in the next couple of weeks and was wondering what oil to use at different intervals.

I will be changing the oil as follows:

50 miles
150 miles
600 miles

From 600 on as the manufaturer recommends.

I am thinking Rotella 15w40 for the short intervals, but have a few questions.

Does the new Rotella have Moly in it?
Is it safe for wet clutches?
Would it void my warranty?

After 600 miles I plan on synthetic with either Rotella T 5w40 or Amsoil MC 10w40. Sorry if i'm
deadhorse.gif
but I am new to motorcycles "again".

Rotella does not contain Moly unless they added it with the new CJ-4 reformulation.

Moly itself is not always a problem for wet clutches. The thing you want to look out for are oils that are "friction modified".

None of the HDEO's (Rotella, Delvac, Delo, etc) are friction modified.

As to the required oil viscosity, standards, and certification Suzuki requires you will have to read the owners manual.

I have run 15W-50 Mobil 1 for many miles in a Kawasaki ZG1000 Concours and only switched to Rotella T Synthetic 5W-40 after Mobil reduced the additive levels in 15W-50. For the GSXR if I wanted to run Mobil 1 I would run MX4-T if you could get it for a decent price. Its to pricey for a Concours.

Even if you are one of those people who worry about break-in with synthetics (not really an issue) Rotella T Synthetic 5W-40 is Group III.

You aree being to anal on break-in. I would run the OEM oil 300 mi and then switch to the Synthetic of your choice.

PS Nice Bike! I have been thinking about getting a new Sport Bike (Ducati 1098) myself.

Rotella synthetic has been working great in my '01 GSXR 600. I beat the #@$%! out of it on track days and no problems with clutch slippage or anything else.