Best Oil For 80k+ 2011 VW GTI 2.0T

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am completely new to the European Vehicles. Always owned old american cars, I know VW has certain oil requirements like the low ash oil. What oil would be best? Amsoil? Valvoline? These are 2 brands I really like. Any helpful info or tips? Thanks.

Castrol or Mobil 1 0w40 both work as well as any boutique oil in these engines and are readily available for short money at Walmart.

I own a mk6 GTI like you with the same engine. Mine is a 2013 and has a manual transmission. Mine has 142K on it. My wife uses it on her business travels a lot.

I think you got bad info regarding VW and low ash oil for your car.

If I were you, I would replace that timing chain tensioner with the latest revised one ASAP. That is the weak point on the earlier MK6 GTI's and no oil on earth will help with the earlier tensioner design flaw.

You live in Michigan and most likely near a Meijer store. Look for a 5 qt jug of Valvoline 0W40 or 5W40 at Meijer. The 5W40 is a mid saps oil while the 0W40 is a full saps formulation. Both are VW 502 oils.
If you want a low ash oil, look for something that is VW 504/507.

BTW, the intake manifold on my GTI went out around 82K. I cleaned the intake valves and injector tips while I was at it.

The on engine mechanical fuel pump gave out while my wife was far from home. Easy to replace. The car can run on the in tank fuel pump but you lose a lot of power.

The oil separator gave out once. If that goes out, STOP DRIVING your car and have it towed and replace it. Unless you wanna pop the rear main seal and add another $1000.00
to the repair bill.

The dual mass flywheel gave out at 50K. Right after my wife got back from seeing her parents in NYC, which murdered it.

Could of had it replaced free under warranty. Figured deal with it on my dime now and make it reliable with a traditional flywheel, new clutch and throwout bearing.