London Fire Tragedy

Status
Not open for further replies.
Having listened to the news since the fire at the apartment tower in Kensington, I am compelled to ask what I believe is an obvious question.

To preface that question, I will state I have zero experience as a firefighter.

I will also hope to deflect criticism (somewhat) by stating the job of "first responders" is likely seriously underpaid.

That said, I listen to Jazz FM on my Grace internet radio on a regular basis, hence, a lot of "local" London news at this end.

Numerous interviews of friends and family of the victims revealed they had been in contact via cellular with residents of that apartment tower. The fire started after 1p.m. London time. Several people said they were in contact with family and friends on various floors of that tower for up to three hours after the fire brigades had arrived.

Those residents indicated the smoke was too intense to evacuate via a stairwell (the only stairwell?).

My question is: what was the London Fire Brigade doing during those 3+ hours to rescue those trapped on the upper floors?

The issue I see is no basic fire alarms. Even a pull alarm that rings an alarm on each floor. And key is stairways. Many many people got out of the WTC because of well designed stairways.

Ladder trucks only go so far. I don't know the issue of water supply either. Don't send in teams without being able to have backup teams with water. Why the fire progression? That may be issue of bad fire doors or someone tampering with to keep open. Improper construction without firewalls. Something that I know that happens on this side of the pond, someone cooking and I don't mean fish and chips. Yes there could have been rope teams put on the roof but I don't know the stability and its possibly going over. I am sure more fire fighters will add a few other items. My last year was 2005