NOCO Genius G7200 charging algorithms?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using my G7200 Smart charger for the past two months to maintain my brand new battery. The last week I've noticed that the charging algorithm has changed. I drive the car short trips so I've been boosting the battery when I get home and unplug it when the unit reaches 100%. Usually takes 10-15 minutes.

For the last week I've noticed that the charger will charge the battery to 100% and instead of staying in maintain mode/100%, the smart chargerbegins the charging cycle over going from 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%. This will usually happen 2-4 times until the last cycle the battery will remain at the 100% charge status.

Is the "Smart "charger seeing something I'm not? Those with the NOCO Genius Chargers have you seen this as Well? For the first 2 months the unit only required 1 charging cycle and the battery charge indicator remained in the 100% level.

I thought the unit was faulty and I had Amazon send a replacement and the same charging cycle repeat occurred.

Even with short trips I think you are overdoing the charging at home.

With EFI and electronic ignition, cars don't take a lot of battery juice to start them.

I would charge once every 2 weeks and forget what exact algorithm the charger uses.

I did think I was overcharging the battery. I'll charge it once every two weeks.

Never seen this behavior with my g7200, but then I don't use it more often than once a month.

Did you try contacting Noco to see what they have to say about this behavior?

I contacted NOCO and they stated this is normal. Depending on the state of charge and battery health the charger will extend the charging times.

It just seemed odd that the charger now takes 2-3 charge cycles to maintain 100%. It made me think the charger had somehow damaged my new battery.

Batteries do change as they age as to what they require to reach full.