Advice on Piston Ring Wear

Status
Not open for further replies.
2007 Maxima 3.5 VQ

This car has been in the family since new. The oil was changed regularly and now its at 117k. I did an analysis at 104k after a 9k run on M1 5-30 and received a chromium value of 5. Fast forward to 116k and a 6200 mile run on M1 and chromium is up to a value of 12. So, I have wear in the rings.

I'm wondering how long I have before the wear really gets bad. So far 6200 mile run I burned a half quart to 3/4 quart. I'm guessing since I'm increasing wear but I'm dealing with PPM that I have a while. But that is a guess as I'm not a mechanic and I did NOT stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Originally Posted By: Ramblejam
VQ35 = 0w-40

This. Also i would just keep running it till the timing chain gets bad as well. I would bet that happens before your rings are a big problem.

I also have a VQ35. I would never do 9000 mile runs since these engines are known to beat up oil. Your current consumption isn't much. PPHM seems to be keeping my engine happy at the moment with limited usage. Like others said, 0W40 is also a good choice.

Do the 07's still have pre-cats? Extensive burning is known to destroy those.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: BISCUT
2007 Maxima 3.5 VQ

This car has been in the family since new. The oil was changed regularly and now its at 117k. I did an analysis at 104k after a 9k run on M1 5-30 and received a chromium value of 5. Fast forward to 116k and a 6200 mile run on M1 and chromium is up to a value of 12. So, I have wear in the rings.

I'm wondering how long I have before the wear really gets bad. So far 6200 mile run I burned a half quart to 3/4 quart. I'm guessing since I'm increasing wear but I'm dealing with PPM that I have a while. But that is a guess as I'm not a mechanic and I did NOT stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

I'd love to hear your thoughts.