Synthetic oil in older cars, what's the real story

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: JohnnyO
Originally Posted By: Clevy
Its not zinc that fouls cats,its the phos isn't it.
Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I've read several times that it is the zinc, aka ZDDP. Most HM oils have at least a little more ZDDP. Maybe the P stands for phosphorus. I am not a petroleum engineer and I did not stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Hehehe.
Yeah. If you dig a little deeper you'll find that its the phos that fouls the cats not zinc,and elevated zinc on its own isnt as effective as zinc and phos(zddp).
And in reality zddp doesn't foul cats unless the engine is an oil burner.
But today's oils use other compounds instead of zddp for the anti-wear agent so its not even an actual issue,flat tappet cam or not.
Zddp was used because it was cheap,today's oils have substituted other compounds in place of zddp but they cost more,so the oil costs more. And once the cam is broken in extra zddp isn't even really needed anymore.
And if you researched it back in "the day" oils didn't really have a whole lot more zddp then they do now. Its a myth that just keeps getting retold and people believe it.
And if using a 40 grade the zddp limits don't even apply anyways,just thinner grades have restrictions,the 40 grades,hdeo and most others are well over 1000ppm zinc and phos,so the whole zddp dream can e had by using a 40 grade.

Originally Posted By: snowflake
any name brand synthetic will have enough zinc for most stock motors with a flat tappet.