Plugged tyre runs hotter and higher pressure

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: BetaBear
Patches are unsafe when they are done on W or higher rated tires or within 1" of the sidewall. When either of these are present, we replace the tire.

Would it be safer for me to drive at 70 mph on a patched S-rated tire than my patched Y-rated tire?

Originally Posted By: rpn453
Patches are unsafe when they are done on W or higher rated tires or within 1" of the sidewall. When either of these are present, we replace the tire.

Would it be safer for me to drive at 70 mph on a patched S-rated tire than my patched Y-rated tire?

No of course not... But... As BetaBear has stated,
"First off, Being an automotive technician myself".

I would think that that makes him a professional parts salesman as well.

So, Stuff Happens, and if you got the tires? You must have some money.

LOLz, Jim

Sorry, should rephrase that.

It is not safe to patch a W group rated tire because the patch will not hold up to the tire's alloted speed rating.

Therefore, we do not patch these tires because the plug isn't up to the tires speed standard, and is a huge liability.
smile.gif

We also don't fix tires with just a plug. Pull the tire off, put it in the tire holder, and patch/plug from the inside of the tire out. I'd only use those plug/rubber cement kits in a pinch to get to a shop and get it fully repaired.

If they just patched it without demounting the tire... That's just quick shotty work there. Like those cheap alignment places that just "Set the toe and collect the doe". If you paid for a 4 wheel alignment, you should get the whole alignment. Just like if you paid for a patch job, you should get a full patch job, not just a "Plug it and go".