Windows 8.1 Black Screen

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hopefully you guys can help me resolve an issue I'm having. I recently tried to wake my computer from sleep mode and I got some message about an error that I don't fully recall. It was something about memory and then a message stated it was going to do some type of repair. Honestly I don't remember the exact wording and it popped up and was gone before too long. It went to black screen soon after.

At any rate, when I try to boot up the computer, it will quickly display a small Windows icon with the rotating circles underneath, then go to black screen. No curser. If I hold down the Windows key and click I can turn on the talking navigator but so far have been unsuccessful getting anywhere blind. Pun intended
smile.gif
I'm able to open the UEFI bios utility during boot-up and see that just fine and nothing seems out of the ordinary although I'm not an expert. I'm guessing it's not a hardware issue but something in Windows?

I can't figure out how to get to safe mode when I can't see anything. I wish I could get to the device manager, I'd look into a graphics driver issue.

I should note I have not made any changes or updates to anything recently. I have Windows Update set to manual so I can run them when I choose. I'm also using onboard graphics so no video card.

Any and all help is appreciated!!

Pertinent Specs (nothing overclocked):
Asus Z97-AR MoBo
Intel i5-4690k 3.5GHz
(2) 4GB 1600MHz Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Low Profile Ram
Samsung 850 Evo SSD boot drive
WD Black HDD for storage
Seasonic 550W PSU
Samsung HDMI Monitor

I would re-seat the memory and if that don't help try booting with just one of the 4 gig sticks - one could be bad?