Which one would be a better beginner bike?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I finally made my mind up and decided to go with CB500F after the MSF course (which will be held on the second weekend of July). There are few reasons why I will buy CB500F:

1) Easy to find used clean one. Many of them are not trashed by new riders, as most people buy Yamaha R3 or Kawasaki Ninja 250/300 as a first bike.
2) Insurance. Due to it's smaller engine (compared to the others on my list), it has the best insurance rates.
3) Parts are cheap due to its popularity, and good on gas.
4) As a rookie, I need a smooth and forgiving bike, and it must be really hard to take the wheels off the ground if I make a mistake. Although some people call it "boring", I think CB500F is the most forgiving bike on my list.
5) I sat on Versys, NC, V-Strom but I didn't feel comfortable. They all have higher seat than the CB500F, and I want to be able to put my feet flat on the ground. Maybe I need to get more experienced to ride a motorcycle with higher seat. But not for now. Somehow it makes me nervous if I can't put my feet flat.
6) On paper, CB500F is the lightest one on my list, which is also noticeable in real life by just sitting on it.
7) Due to these reasons written above, I believe it is a good option for my needs and it is the easiest bike to learn how to ride.

By the way, I also sat on Rebel 500 but that bike is too small for my size, at least this is how I felt.

Originally Posted By: dgunay
I finally made my mind up and decided to go with CB500F after the MSF course

Good choice! Should be a lot of fun. Hope you enjoy it.

I think I should update this topic.

I passed MSF course. It was fun and learned a lot of things. Here is my picture with tiny Yamaha TW200 during the course. This thing is fun!

14tlgrd.jpg