Which oil

I’m approaching my first, to me oil change on my 2018 Cummins. I’m trying to decide between the Valvoline Premium Blue and the Shell Rotella T5 or T6, but I’ve heard these trucks don’t benefit from using synthetic oils.
Also is the standard Mopar oil filter really a good filter to use?
This truck rarely gets worked hard. It just gets a lot of highway miles put on it. I try to not idle more than required also.
Please help me on these matters.

Wont matter. I'm a fleet mechanic and the yard shifter trucks I work on have a lower output 6.7 Cummins that move semi trailers around the hubs. The engines go 30K+ hours on bulk Delo 15W40.

As long as the oil is API CK4 rated and is approved for Cummins CES-20086, you are good to go.
And while some people say that synthetic oil is not required for the ISB Cummins, it will definitely not hurt anything. I use 5-40 synthetic in my 22’ model with good results so far.
The Mopar filter is a rebranded LF 3972 FleetGuard oil filter. The LF 16035 is the upgraded Stratapore version that is more efficient at reducing smaller particles in the oil. A lot of people use the standard filter and have zero issues.

Last edited:
I will add that my 18’ I had liked the Mobil Delvac Extreme. It just seemed to be smoother and quieter with it.

I’m approaching my first, to me oil change on my 2018 Cummins. I’m trying to decide between the Valvoline Premium Blue and the Shell Rotella T5 or T6, but I’ve heard these trucks don’t benefit from using synthetic oils.
Also is the standard Mopar oil filter really a good filter to use?
This truck rarely gets worked hard. It just gets a lot of highway miles put on it. I try to not idle more than required also.
Please help me on these matters.