Valvoline WB?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this site and would like some help on two items. First- I have been a Valvoline white bottle user for some time now,(father used it so....), but I picked up 3 jugs of Quaker State green bottle 5-30 at the local Kmart on sale for 11.99 each and thought I would give it a try. Some of my friends said I was stepping down but since the price was right it seemed worth a try. I would be using it in my 97 Prk.ave. that has 183,000 miles but runs like a top.Love that 3800 in it. I do 3,000 mile oil change intervals-live in N.D. so it gets cold up here in the winter so 5-30 for winter and 10-30 for summer. Allright to switch to Quaker State?
Second-Just bought an 03 Corolla and the previous owner used Mobil One synthetic in it. Would it make a differnce if I used Quaker State synthetic since it is about 8 bucks a jug cheaper? 6,000 mile oil changes on that one. I am not an oil expert so I am wondering if it is ok to switch brands. The corolla only has 60,000 miles on it and is in great shape.
Thanks in advance for any response 97Prk.Ave-VWB-napa gold filter
03 Corolla-Mobil one-wix filter
91 4x4 dakota-VWB-napa gold filter

you are definitely not "stepping down" by trying out quaker state. if anything, according to a test done on both oils, quaker state looks to have more additives (which will help clean and protect your engine)
http://www.pqiamerica.com/testresultssep2011.html
IMO quaker state is a better oil than valvoline white bottle. but some people claim that not all the additives show up in an oil report, so who knows.

on the topic of switching oils..feel free to switch away! you can switch between any brand of oil AND between conventional and synthetic with no issues!
cheers3.gif

Nodak, welcome to BITOG! Nothing wrong in switching to QS. It's a very good oil and it appears that your choice of filtration is also well thought out.
thumbsup2.gif