Synthetic oil for Ch Compressor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have this Husky Professional 30 Gal Air Compressor (CH USA) and I'm currently running it with regular Shell SAE30 Non-Detergent oil. I usually don't use my compressor that much during the cold winter months, but lately my cars have needed some unexpected maintenance and I've been going for my air tools whenever I can. The last week has seen some really cold days where I live and when starting the compressor for the first time the electric motor and pistons have struggled a bit to get going. I was wondering if I would see easier starting/less stress on the compressor if I switched over to a synthetic compressor oil like AMSOIL ISO 46 (20WT) or AMSOIL ISO 100 (30/40WT)? Would these oils be compatible with my CH compressor?

Thanks

Last edited:
I am a custom home builder. We employ anywhere from 15-45 men depending on season and whether or not we have any multi unit residential(condos,apartments etc) going on. I have 12 5.5 hp Honda gas powered air compressors. Some are inline twins,others are v-twins and I've got a couple that I bolted a triple cylinder pump onto when the v-twin pumps failed.
What I'm trying to get at is I make my living with air compressors. For years we used a non detergent 30 grade oil in the pumps. Engine oil would foam and kill the pumps due to lack of lubrication. Even in -40 temps we used that same non detergent oil,so I see no reason you can't HOWEVER I've switched all of them to Amsoil compressor oil. We now run the oil in the pumps for a year instead of every 3 months and never a pump failure. The only 2 that we ones my younger brother put engine oil into. Mobil 1 actually. It was before they fell out of favour with me. The oil foamed up in 35 degree heat. The screeching sound was heard throughout the entire sub division.
We then has our suppliers drop off another brand new air compressor to which he did the exact same thing.

Originally Posted By: Mr_Accord