Super Tech Filters Disappearing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All,

I am new to this great forum but have been reading many of the posts in several of the topic areas. Anyway, I have read quite a bit about Super Tech filters available at Walmart...or should I say were once available at Walmart.

The several Walmarts that I have been in in the DE,PA and MD areas do not carry them or only carry a limited model line at best. The filter section is essentially orange from floor to the top of the shelving with Fram.

What's the story with that? Were Super Tech filters once available for all make and models including foreign? I have resigned myself to using German made Mann filters for my two Volvos.
I get them for a bit under $4/filter via mailorder but I would use the Super Techs if they sold them. BTW, although on a different topic, I am on my second oil change with Super Tech 10w-30 Full Synthetic on my 93 940 Volvo wagon with 78K.
It seems to be just fine. I will probably switch to dino 10w-30 in Spring/Summer/Fall. I see Texaco Havoline 10w-30 for under a $1/qt. at the Target nearby.

I just bought a bunch of SuperTech filters in case they do eliminate the supply. Right now its predominantly Fram - with some SuperTEch and less and less Motorcraft. I'd say before 2003 is over, it will all be Fram.