Stupid PC question of the day!

I have never built or modified a PC before, and I'm considering undertaking a pretty large task. No more pre-built garbage! I have done weeks worth of research and have taken every bit of advice about the safety side of things (electricity/cable limitations, PSU limitations, etc.). I'm ready to proceed except for a few odd details. What I can't seem to find answers to are the idiot questions. So I'll ask:

When transferring a CPU from one MOBO to another (obviously with the same chipset compatibility), how to you install Windows on the new MOBO? Or is it even technically installed on the MOBO? Now that I'm typing this, I feel it's the storage device that does this. Is it as simple as removing the SSD from the old MOBO and placing it on the new one, and voila...you pick up right where you left off?!? Or does it require a more complicated process? Basically, I don't want to pay $100 for Windows on the new system, but don't want to do anything shady either. I'd rather remove it from the old one and render the old one useless until when/if I switch back. Or is there an official free version I can download if I can prove I bought it the first time? Aside from this, I think I'm ready. The hardware side of things I feel I can do anything, but I'm extremely software ignorant, if it wasn't already painfully obvious.

That's what I figured, but what about transferring/duplicating/downloading it?

You can usually clone the drive using various software suites; often times the SSD vendors will include them with purchase. How exactly you do it will depend on the software.

That said, I would strongly recommend just backing up all your existing data, creating new install media (google windows 10 download and follow the microsoft links) using a USB Key and doing a format/fresh windows install. It's really easy, and will remove many headaches down the road.