Something in my PSU or motherboard is jacked up

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have exhausted my many years of experience and all understanding of computers I have trying to fix this on my personal machine at home.

Certain components are staying powered up when the computer is supposed to be shutdown. The CPU fan, case fans, motherboard LEDs -- all continue to operate when the computer is off. Only way to stop them is to unplug the computer entirely.

I've disconnected every peripheral and add-on card in the hopes one was shorting out or whatever but the problem is persisting. I also tested the pins on the PSU connectors and the voltages/grounds are reading correctly. The final thing I did was to completely rip everything out and reconnect it in the hopes I did something stupid.

As of right now I cannot figure out if it's a PSU or motherboard problem.

Still waiting to hear back from the motherboard manufacturer. Other info if you're curious:

eVGA 750i SLI FTW motherboard
Intel Q6600
OCZ Reaper 4GB
GTX260
Thermaltake 600W PSU
Antec P182 case

The computer actually runs just fine...but I don't want the problem to snowball where suddenly the thing won't power up or the CPU fries.

I should add that the case fans are actually fed off the Molex 4-pin power connectors straight from the PSU, they do not connect to the motherboard fan ports.

This is what's puzzling -- those should be "off" but are not. It's like the motherboard AND PSU are both screwy.

What OS are you using and how are you shutting the machine down?

When you start the machine back up, does it go through the normal Windows (i assume you are using windows?) startup process or does it say that it's resuming? Does it say it was not shut down correctly if you "turn it off" and then unplug it?

Windows 7 x64. It shuts down cleanly like it always did. And it boots normally. I've had this machine for a while now, no changes.