Retirement Investments

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2024
Looking for some general advice on retirement investments, that not just I can learn from but perhaps many others on here. I understand there isn’t a one size fits all approach to this. Just looking for tips and tricks.

I’m 26 and started contributing to my 401k 2 years ago in a traditional 401k. I was contributing 6%. Early this year I switched my contributions to my company’s Roth 401k plan, and upped it to 10%, and just last week now 12%. My company matches either 3% of my salary, or $2k, whichever is greater.

Seeking some advice on some other good options for retirement investments? Wondering if I should lower my Roth 401k contribution so that I still get the $2k company match and invest the money I would otherwise contribute to the 401k into a Roth IRA? If so, where do I begin on this?

I’m a noob at all this so pardon my ignorance.

Thanks!

I was contributing 6%. Early this year I switched my contributions to my company’s Roth 401k plan, and upped it to 10%, and just last week now 12%.
You are ahead of 99% of 26 year olds, congrats!

You'll get lots of good advice here as we have many financially intelligent members.

It's nice that you get a company match, but don't worry too much about not getting match past $2000, because there are few retirement investment vehicles that are as tax efficient as a Roth and virtually no non-retirement investments that are as tax efficient. My advice would be to up your contribution and make sure you max out your plan before the end of the year. You likely won't miss the money and you'll retire long before your friends who didn't stuff their 401k.