Random Orbital or Forced Action polisher?

AZjeff

$50 Site Donor 2023
I really need to learn how to polish/buff the finish on the cars I take care of and have been doing some research and see the latest thing is the gear driven polisher. Is the forced rotation feature the way to go and will it be ok since I'm new to machine polishing? I don't really want to buy one type and find out in a year I should have bought the other because it's so much better. Thanks

Christmas is coming and she's asking what I'd like.;)

Honestly there is no "best" answer. Best is what you will work well for you every time you use it, personally I have no use whatsoever for a random orbit buffer. I do not polish or buff cars for fun or enjoyment I do it because I have to after painting so I use a aggressive compound after cutting the paint.
That being said the same tool with a different pad and finer compound and glaze produces a mirror finish, the catch to using a rotary buffer is they require a lot of practice to become good and safe with it. The safest rotary is a small variable speed electric with foam pads.
If you are willing to invest the time practicing the rotary is the way to go.

This one works well is very controllable but will break your arms and quickly become a hated tool. I have not used this in years, it got retired after 2 full cars and still sitting in the same spot.

IMG_0318.JPG

On the other hand this little guy from Astro was dirt cheap and have done many cars without any trouble, it really is a good little tool.

IMG_0319.JPG

The difference in size.

IMG_0326.JPG

This is my main buffer, air powered and super easy to control and work quickly, I use the small electric rotary mostly for single panels with a smaller pad.

IMG_0316.JPG