Picked up a Jetta 1.8 Turbo -Additive Rec. anyone?

Status
Not open for further replies.
It has 38000 miles and seems in great shape. Any owners of this powertain on this board?

Any suggestions on what I should do as the 2nd owner of this vehicle?

Last question - Is it a reliable car?

Thanks

I'm the owner of a '00 GTI 1.8T.

I would not go out of my way to do anything special, other than making sure you use a VW 502.00 rated oil & change it every 5k or there-abouts.

No, I would not consider the Jetta, or any VW for that matter, to be a reliable car. The engines will generally last forever; it's the electrical, emissions, and automatic transmission gremlins that will drive you nuts.

I'm no expert, but small engine and turbo makes me think of Redline Oil. You won't need any additive with Redline as it has gobs of zddp and moly and it's ester base will take all that the turbo can throw at it. For that matter, might as well fill the tranny with Redline ATF (or manual tranny fluid if that is the case). Once you get the redline in, run it hard and have fun.

Perhaps you could enlighten me on issues you've experienced?

I'm looking to prevent as many of them as I can. Hopefully, they would have sorted the '00 issues out by '04.

I think they are still having electronics problems even in 2007 VWs. There is no real way to prevent problems w/out getting the poor connections/bad electronics replaces and redone.

For me, it's been multiple airbag failures & a secondary air injection fault code that I can not pinpoint. There have been other problems, too, but they were VWOA extended warranty items, whose problems have not returned.

I have a 2002 GTI 1.8T 337 and I really have not had any major problems, especially with the engine/ drivetrain.

Here is a short list of problems I have had:
-Check Engine light due to coil packs which was replaced under warranty. VW had a MAJOR recall on this.
-Both window regulators failed. Also a major VW recall