Phillips 20w-50 (conventional)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Our mechanic suggested we switch from AeroShell 15w-50 (semi syn) to Phillips 20w-50 (conventional) in an attempt to reduce excessive crankcase venting of the oil / consumption. Engine is a TIO-540 Lycoming--crankcase venting of oil has been a problem with this engine since new. I've used AeroShell in practically every aircraft I've flown and have run several of them to TBO a few times on it with no oil issues.

I've never used Phillips before, but it DOES seem to be slowing consumption--I'll know better as we approach the end of the OCI. Have any of you used Phillips for this reason? One thing I noticed right off is that it blackened very quickly, compared to the AeroShell.

I'm no plane person but, I think I read somewhere that oil for planes is designed to be more resistant to plug fouling. So I guess my question is , is the Phillips oil your using designed for plane use?.,,,

Originally Posted By: BigCahuna
I'm no plane person but, I think I read somewhere that oil for planes is designed to be more resistant to plug fouling. So I guess my question is , is the Phillips oil your using designed for plane use?.,,,

this is my thought also, unless the Phillips oil is approved for aircraft, i would use something like this. Note some engine manufacturers require specific additives.

"AeroShell W 15 W 50 has become very popular amongst engine manufacturers and operators alike. In order to cater for those Lycoming engines that need improved load carrying, the Lycoming LW 16702 antiwear additive has been incorporated into the formulation thus eliminating the need for supplemental additive addition."

http://www.shell.com/business-customers/aviation/aeroshell/piston-engine-oil/w15w50.html

Last edited: