Large bolts

Status
Not open for further replies.
What do you use on large bolts? For example, the PVC valve on my Corolla looks needs a 19 mm socket. My father's Camry needs a 22 or 23 mm. I don't want to buy deep sockets just for these larger bolts. I know this is a silly question, but do people usually use an adjustable wrench for these bolts? Who makes a good quality adjustable wrench other than Snap-on? What features am I looking for?

Are there any new tools out there that's better than an adjustable wrench?

Last edited:
Depending on your torque needs, an adjustable Crescent wrench might do it for you. I usually manage to get by with one.

K

Shop around. If you intend on keeping the vehicles for awhile an inexpensive socket or wrench may be worth it. The headaches caused by not using the right tool can be painful.
I am an occasional mechanic and have yet to break a wrench and have only lost a no name ratchet that I have no idea where I got.

Cheap tools can last a very long time for an occasional user. Name brand tools can be passed down to children and grandchildren.
From my experience it is better to have the right tool for the job than to improvise in the Garage. It just makes life easier.

I'd want to use the right tool. Better to have torque on as many surfaces as possible to prevent damage. Rounded bolts arent fun...

I don't mean to be flip, but with Harbor Freight tools around, I would just purchase the socket set. The sizes that you are mentioning are by no means unusual. I hate the idea of trying to remove something that could be stuck and especially with an adjustable crescent wrench, which BTW is really not an appropriate under the hood tool imho. I would also point out that for home mechanics of all stripes, Craftsman tools from Sears have always been a reasonable, very high-quality choice.

If you can't get your hands or borrow a socket set for this purpose, I have to ask if you should really be working on a car.