I replaced my disposal and...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I wanted to share some of what I've learned about disposals over the years. Some of you may remember that I've been a plumber for more than 30 years (closing in on 34 or so). When I started out, it seemed like all I ever saw was Insinkerators. I saw the occasional Waste King, but I wasn't impressed. Even then, it seemed like there were only two disposal manufacturers, ISE (or their parent company), and Waste King. GE, Whirlaway, and Waste King obviously came off of the same assembly line, and ISE, Kenmore, and many others also clearly were very similar. I've had a number of Insinkerators, but the last one I had was a 333 (not 333SS), and I was very disappointed in its relatively short life, less than 5 years. When I replaced it, alternatives were hard to find locally (this is over 10 years ago), but I found a GE at a fairly reasonable price. Fast forward to today, that GE has lasted more than 10 years, grinding up everything I put in it without complaint. We are hard on disposals. The instructions say that you can grind bones, so we grind bones. Nothing huge, but any chicken bone is fair game, as well as small beef and pork bones.